That’s A Bullshit Answer

The only thing that surprised me about this interview is that Eddie even knew of the movie “My Cousin Vinny”, much less could quote it.  That was a shocker.

The interview that I refer to was on “Face The Nation” yesterday, and the Eddie that I refer to is Edmund Morris, a Pulitzer Prize winning author.

And he strikes me as the exact sort of person who would step gingerly over a person who lay collapsed on the sidewalk.  You all know people like this.

He was asked a fairly lame question, “What would Teddy Roosevelt thinks of today’s politics?”  He responded first with a petulant protest about the quality of questions that had been directed to him, of course, then went on with quite an expert manner to detail all of the unfortunate qualities that Americans are possessed of these days.

http://www.eyeblast.tv/public/eyeblast.swf?v=hdSUqGeuqG


“We’ve become such an insular people, I’m particularly sensitive to this as I suppose Arianna is as an immigrant.   Because I represent, I come from another culture, I can call myself legitimately an African American (HAHAHA goes the guest next to him….Morris happens to be white).   I’m aware that people elsewhere in the world think differently than us……….I can sort of see us, us Americans through their eyes, and not all that I see is attractive.  I see an insular people, who are, um, insensitive to foreign sensibilities, who are lazy, obese, complacent and increasingly perplexed as to why we are losing our place in the world to people who are more dynamic than us and more disciplined.”

Why, why why, when these darlings make such a statement, does not one single person ask them to elaborate?

Tell us how Americans are lazy?  Is it because the jobs that they had were outsourced?  Now they have less opportunity to be productive.  They could start their own businesses, except for the crippling taxes and fees.  Not to mention the rules, regulations and restrictions placed on these would be entrepreneurs.  Do any of us remember how in Michigan, about a year ago, more than 40,000 HOME-BASED day care providers statewide were suddenly informed they were members of Child Care Providers Together Michigan—a union created in 2006 by the United Auto Workers and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees. The union had won a certification election conducted BY MAIL under the auspices of the Michigan Employment Relations Commission. In that election only 6,000 day-care providers voted. The pro-labor vote turned out.  They got slammed into this union, even though their “employers” are the parents of the children that they baby-sit.

Well, we know the unions aren’t lazy.

Morris is aware that people elsewhere in the world think differently than Americans.  Let’s ponder.  Yes, now that it has been brought to my attention, I suppose I can concede that persons living in Iceland may think differently than I do.  I wonder……..is it that their culture developed differently than did that of this country?  Is it that their concerns and day to day events do not mirror those of the American people?  I think I could have come to that understanding without the illustrious Morris presuming to inform me just how out of the loop I be.

Hey Eddie, we do know that people in other countries are different.  That they think differently.  We just don’t ALL go about puffed up that we have this awareness.  Again, Morris makes a “statement” but neglects to share any example to make his case.

Insular.  Hum.  So this is where the person who can afford to travel abroad tells the person that cannot, that they are narrow-minded buffoons.  Because the Morris’s of the world must create a class system out of such things.  Let’s overlook the costs to travel abroad.  Lets do.  Because that is the only thing that keeps most Americans from traveling.  Nearly every person I have ever known has a dream of traveling away, to experience different cultures, to learn what else is out there and why.  Americans are curious people.

Obese.  Let me tell you how that happens.  It’s two parents working to make ends meet.  They come home exhausted with a couple of kids to feed.  No one wants to wait an hour and a half while preparing and chopping and measuring, then cooking.  The kids are starved, the parents are starved.  A pre-fab skillet meal goes on the stove (high in calories and such), a pre-fab loaf of garlic bread goes in the oven (also high in calories and such), and a bag-o-salad gets torn open, dumped in a bowl and set out with a bottle of high fructose corn syrup infused salad dressing.

It had seemed like such a nice meal.

Then the kiddies sit in front of the TV ’cause the molesters are roaming the streets looking for any child out innocently playing as children should be able to do.

That reminds me of the new neighbors across the way from me.  They moved here nearly a year ago, with their three children.  They have a nice big yard, with a nice jungle gym thingy.  This is a lovely and very quiet neighborhood where everyone knows each other.  Yet….their children almost never play outside.  I’ll guess that the kids play outside two or three times a month, and only with mum or dad present, and only for maybe an hour a pop.

That’s why children are obese.  The poor little critters can’t go out and run or ride bikes, or play ball.  They sit.

The parents are so used up by the end of their workday that they sit too.  We have different worries about the security of our jobs these days than ever existed before in this country, and that causes far more stress during the workday than the ordinary stress that comes with the job duties.  Many people over-indulge when stressed, even if the overindulgence is sitting.

And Eddie, which peoples are you referring to when you make the statement of fact that “We are losing our place in the world to people who are more dynamic than us and more disciplined.”  Again you let us down and left us dangling by failing to give us exactly which people have so outdistanced us.

~ by ladysforest on November 29, 2010.

7 Responses to “That’s A Bullshit Answer”

  1. ladysforest,

    I know this is a different subject, but what do you think about the Wikileak stuff, could BO have had something to do with it? Some people think so.

    • You know, I’m just wandering through that stuff now. I don’t think obama would be on board with that stuff. That being said, I haven’t read far enough into what is out there to have the big picture.

      Why is it that people think he has something to do with it? I’ve been dealing with a cold and not really on my game these last few days. 🙂

  2. Sorry that you’re sick. I know how you feel because I just had one. Hope you feel better soon!

    Well, some think that about BO because so far nothing has come out about him at all that anyone knows of. More stuff about Hillary has come out. People think that BO wouldn’t just fire Hillary. He’d have to get rid of her some other way. The reason that he doesn’t want her around is because of 2012. Then there are other people who think that he could have put a stop to the leaks and has done absolutely nothing. Listen to this about Bolton too. http://www.breitbart.tv/former-un-ambassador-john-bolton-doesnt-believe-un-officials-were-told-to-spy/

    Lots of the stuff coming out is no big deal. So I don’t know why they’re upset about it. Most of that stuff people are aware of anyway.

    And I don’t know this 100 percent, but my guess would be that Bill C. and Hill C. have their own stuff on BO locked away and could have it released when they are ready. Can’t prove that, but I wouldn’t doubt it.

    • Thank you kittycat. Unfortunately today is a bit less comfortable than yesterday. 😦

      The thing with obama not having anything come up directly relating to him is not surprising to me. That it tarnishes Hillary a bit right at the time when the next presidential run is gearing up is right on cue. That’s the thing with this wiki-leaks stuff. It’s always interesting in the timing.

      Now, why can’t they get the wiki-leaks owner? I was listening to a big honcho being asked that question by Shep or someone, and the honcho kept dancing around the question – not very convincingly. The point was made to him that the wiki-guy JUST did an interview with the Times (I think), maybe it was Time mag, anyway…..is our national intelligence so lacking that a person like that can sit down and do such an interview, and the US couldn’t possibly find out before hand? The answer is that the guy is useful, and may be a mole.

      Bill is owned by the Saudi’s, and I’m guessing they told Bill and Hillary that obama is a hands-off situation. Remember that the Clintons are very skilled at gathering intelligence on their enemies. You can bet they’ve got plenty on obama, but they are gagged I believe.

      Gah! It’s so hard to put it into order when I feel so cruddy, but it does all tie in together.

  3. I don’t know, but if B & H Clinton get pushed far enough, possibly they will pass on information. I bet they have tons of stuff on BO. And I’m not a Dem anymore, which I’m really for the right person regardless of party. The Dems kind of deviated from their ideals and moral foundation as well as some of the Repubs. So I just want a person who is strong morally, goes for strong family, has ideals that lead to the country growing and people working, less taxes (a lot less), less government.

    • It’s difficult to say how they might respond. I mean, this made her look a bit of a chump, but it’s not too bad. It may just be a sort of warning to her. Who knows, if she gets shut out from being in the arena, she may just say, “what the hell”, and let leaks occur. That there is something more than the usual kind of manipulation has been clear to me since she accepted her current position.

  4. I’ve been busy working so hard today, but things are going downhill quickly. I can’t imagine not working, which is what I’ve always done. My husband’s business is really falling apart.

    However, I do hope that you’re feeling better today. It’s strange, but my nose has been stopping up all day. Hope that mess isn’t coming back on me, or maybe it’s just our air in the country. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

 
